Tobacco stores across Indiana could face tougher penalties for selling tobacco products to anyone under 21 under a bill endorsed by the Indiana House.
The additional penalties are part of a bill increasing Indiana’s minimum age for smoking and vaping from 18 to 21 to conform with a new federal law.
The new proposal would boost the fine against a retailer for a first violation from a $200 maximum, to a minimum of $500 with a third violation within three years carrying a minimum $1,000 fine and a three-year loss of the store’s tobacco sales certificate.
House members voted 84-14 for the bill earlier this week while the Senate is considering its own bill.
(09-24-2020) Lilly Grant to Fund Extended Reality Technology at Trine
(09-23-2020) TrineOnline Degree Programs Now Available Through INTraining
(09-22-2020) Halloween 2020
(09-18-2020) Trine offers Zoom event as part of College Application Week
(09-18-2020) ISP Release Victims Names In Fatal Crash
(09-16-2020) Multi-Vehicle Crash on I-69 near Auburn Claims Three Lives
(09-16-2020) COVID-19 Update and Symptom Tips
(09-16-2020) Problem Solvers Caucus Forms to Bring Second Stimulus Round
(09-15-2020) Man Arrested for Multiple Child Pornography Charges
(09-11-2020) Unemployment Boost Money is Running Out
(09-11-2020) 9/11 Memorial at Trine Canceled
(09-10-2020) Patton Honored with CCH Distinguished Faculty Award
(09-10-2020) Ohio Statewide Effort to Track COVID-19
(09-10-2020) Indiana Adding 95 More Free COVID-19 Testing Sites
(09-09-2020) Floto to Serve as Accreditation Liaison Officer at Trine